What’s Happening??

Dear Diary,

Lately, my daughter Betsy has been obsessed with, “Beauty & The Beast.” She first watched it several weeks ago at my mom’s house. Towards the end of the movie, there’s a scene where the Beast dies and Belle is telling him she loves him and crying. As we watch Betsy watching this, we can see her tearing up. deathWith tears, actual tears. I was so amused and touched that she was so moved by one of my favorite movies of all time. Then she kept asking, “What’s happening? What’s happening?” We would explain to her what was happening and encourage her to hang in there, because it was about to get good! She kept watching, still asking, “What’s happening, mom? What’s happening?” Then as Belle collapses on top of the end of all her hopes and dreams of true love, this happens. beautifulWhen this scene started, with all the lights shooting down and magical things happening, Betsy gasped and said, “BEAUTIFUL!” Over and over. “It’s BEAUTIFUL!”  She kept saying this throughout the entire ending, and once they were dancing happily ever after, she immediately asked to watch it again. End-of-Beauty-and-the-Beast

So we obliged. Because really, how do you resist all of that cuteness??

Ever since that first time she watched it, every time, she goes on that roller-coaster of emotions. She now knows the songs, lines and story by heart. She sings along with every song, and recites the lines. She tells you what’s going to happen. Then that scene hits and it’s like she gets an attack of amnesia. She always ALWAYS cries, she always forgets what’s going to happen. She comes to me very worried and asks, “What’s happening, Mommy? What’s happening??” Then she sits breathlessly waiting as I remind her to “just watch and see” and every time, she exclaims, “Beautiful! Beautiful!” and is so surprised to see that (yet again) the Beast transforms into Belle’s prince and they dance and dance and everyone is happy.

It amazes me sometimes how much like her I get with  my life. I have a lot of amazing, good times, but when the bad times hit, how quickly I forget, every. Single. Time. How faithful my God is to pull me out and set my feet on a solid place to stand. I know how the story ends, I know what’s going to happen in the end, and yet every time, I turn to God asking with tears and worry, “What’s happening?” Every time, I can hear Him saying, “Just wait, it’s going to get good!” Then I watch that play out and marvel at how beautiful the ending was. Every. Time. The Psalm of David comes to mind when I think of this,

I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.” Psalm 40:1-2

I love that hymn, “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.” I sing it often because it reminds me of God’s faithfulness. Yes, the hard times will happen, yes, life is gonna suck- a lot. But God is faithful.

Great is thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
there is no shadow of turning with thee;
thou changest not, thy compassions, they fail not;
as thou hast been thou forever will be.

Great is thy faithfulness! Great is thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see;
all I have needed thy hand hath provided;
great is thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
sun, moon and stars in their courses above
join with all nature in manifold witness
to thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

So even when I’m at my lowest, asking over and over, “What’s happening?” I need to remember that His faithfulness is great, regardless of my faithlessness.

Till Next Time,
Ash

2 thoughts on “What’s Happening??

Leave a Reply

