30 Day Challenge

Dear Diary,

Well, there are two things on my mind lately….

My marriage, and my weight.

My marriage is good, but I’m always trying to think of ways to make it better. How can I be a better wife? How can I be the best wife? Well, I found a 30 Day Marriage Challenge online and I am gonna try it! Here’s the whole cliche : “So come on this journey with me!”

I am starting it tomorrow and here’s the first challenge: Ask, “What can I help you with today?” Wish me luck!

 

Next up on my list is my weight. Now, before I get started, let me be clear… this is not a ploy or request for compliments, reassurance or anything like that. This is simply me, trying to be the best “me” I can be and just ranting about it! So bear with me…

So my weight… I’ve struggled with accepting that I will likely never return to 125lbs which is what I weighed when I got married. But I’ve pretty much finally gotten around to embracing the new curves I’ve been blessed with since having 3 children and I’m happy to say I’m happy with how my body looks. Or I was until I really looked in the mirror this last week after attempting to put on about 4 different pairs of pants and having NONE of them fit. *sigh* Houston, we have a problem.

Well, I’ve had a pretty crappy summer as you know. And I’ve learned a few things about myself. One thing I’ve learned that I don’t like so much, is I “stress-eat.” Like big time. Like cookies, candy, pastries, chips, soda,…you name it. If I’m stressing, I’ll crave it, and I’ll get it. I’m eating like I’m pregnant for cryin’ out loud and I weigh right now as much as I did being 9 months pregnant with Matthew. Okay, ouch…that was embarrassing. (I’m not pregnant by the way) It’s just ridiculous. It’s embarrassing, and it’s not healthy. I’m growing out of all my pants. Like seriously, I think I’ve got 2 pairs that still fit. Yoga pants are my BFF right now. It’s bad. I know a size 10 is healthy for some people, but for me, I didn’t get here because I’m eating healthy and exercising, so I’d say a size 10 is not my healthy weight range. Of course, neither is size 2, but I’d like to really work on not stress eating. I need to drink more water too. So tomorrow, I’ll take some “before” photos of myself. I’m going to eat healthier, drink more and get some exercise. When I get stressed, I’ll run up and down my stairs instead of running for the pantry. I’ll do crunches, not munches! And gosh darn it, I better get back into my pants (or at least some of them) by the end of 30 days. So I’m taking the plunge I so dread and I’m going to practice some restraint. This is gonna be tough. I’m already not looking forward to it, but having my wardrobe back would be nice.

 

 

Till Next Time,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

