Conversations at the Breakfast Table

Dear Diary,

So this morning at breakfast, I was briefing the kids on plans for today and what I expected of them. Matthew was sitting there stuffing his face with toast and patting my knee. Sweet boy. Pardon me while I stray from the topic for a minute, but Jadon has been uncommonly good this morning, helping without being asked, cleaning up very thoroughly and Lilly…..drew on the walls with Crayon this morning. Bless her heart, she had no shame when I asked, “Lilly, what are you doing?” She smiled at me and said, “Mama! Look at this pretty picture I draw’ed for you!” I rolled my eyes and took the crayons away from her and explained that we don’t draw on the walls. Silly girl. Anyway, so there we were at the table eating breakfast and I was telling the kids our plan for the day. We need to tidy up the house and then get all ready to go run a few errands and then pick up Daddy. After that, we’re going to Grandma & Grandpa’s house where Lilly and Matthew will be staying with them for a few hours while Mommy, Daddy and J.J. go to Auntie Abby’s graduation. I’ve been talking Lilly through this for the last week, reminding her that Jadon will not be there with her at Grandma and Grandpa’s. She so relies on him, he’s like a comfort blanket to her so I figured NOT springing this news on her at the last minute would be the best route. So far she seems pretty excited to go and watch movies with them and play with Matthew over there. I pray this lasts. Usually when I drop the kids off with a sitter, I give them a “pep-talk” of sorts beforehand so they know what I expect of them. I say, “Okay guys, I wanna hear from (insert babysitter’s name here) what a big help you’ve been and how well-behaved you’ve been.” Usually this has good results. This morning, I had not gotten to that part yet when Jadon jumped in right after I had reminded Lilly that Jadon would be coming with us, and he said, “Now Lilly, you better be good. Me and Mommy and Daddy wanna hear how good you’ve been so I can give you a high-five.” I chuckled…what a typical oldest child I have.

Let’s do some updates on the kiddos:

Jadon- has been doing pretty well. Every day he asks more questions and I’m struggling to keep up sometimes. He has started reading, which is really cool! Once he really gets the hang of it, I think he’ll really enjoy it! This last week, we’ve started researching which school he would be attending next fall. Crazy thought to think my baby will be in kindergarten soon. He is so excited though, he talks about it a lot. He is very into puzzles at the moment and enjoys showing me how fast he can put them together. 🙂

Lilly- well has you can see, has been coloring on the wall. Haha, but seriously, Lilly is doing great, she’s starting to learn to recognize letters and numbers and she’s drawing shapes too. She is getting more and more of a little diva attitude which Tim & I are trying to keep in check. It’s hard to believe that while Jadon will be starting kindergarten next fall, she’ll only be a year behind him! Crazy. She is starting to interact more and more with Matthew which is cute to watch, but as always, still keeps a mindful eye on her babies (dolls) which she feeds, bathes and takes out at least 20 times per day.

Matthew- is one tall kid 🙂 He is in the 96th percentile for height and his weight is right on target for his height. He is crawling faster and faster all the time and is pulling himself up on things and standing all by himself. He has attempted a step, but so far, no dice. That’s okay, I’m in no hurry for him to grow up 🙂 He has 6 teeth now, 4 on top and 2 on the bottom. He looks so much older with all these teeth. Poor kid cut all four of the top ones within one week. He’s still just as cuddly as ever and is now getting territorial over snuggling with me. If he’s sitting and playing with his toys and one of the other kids comes to sit on my lap or snuggle with me, he’ll drop everything and come crawling over and attempt to peel them off. It worked the first time and Jadon got up. Matthew crawled into my lap, pulled himself up on me and gave me a big squeeze around the neck and proceeded to “tell Jadon off” in his baby babble for stealing his mommy. Haha. He’s pretty funny. Neither Jadon nor Lilly ever wanted to sit on my lap when they played, they were little independent babies. Matthew however, is never happier than when he’s sitting on my lap and playing. Occasionally, he’ll look up and me and smile his face off and lean his head back onto my shoulder for a minute. I know this is how he says, “I love you Mommy” right now and I melt every time.

Well, it’s been fun, but I’ve gotta go get busy and make hay while the sun shines!

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

