Here I Come A-Wassailing…

Dear Diary,

When I was little, my family listened to a lot of old school Christmas music. We had the Time Life Treasury Christmas on cassette tape and we wore those out! One of the songs on there, was “Here We Come A-Wassailing” or as most people know it better, “Here We Come A-Caroling.” For those of you interested in the history behind this song, please read on… for those not interested, skip ahead 🙂

This is an old traditional English carol sung during the Christmastime when people were feeling a bit more on the generous (or drunk) side. Peasants and beggars would dance through the streets and stop at a house to sing a carol or two in exchange for a swig from the wassail pot. Wassail traditionally, was made of beer, ale, spices and mead (honey wine). Mine, however is less hardcore and is made from apple juice, apple vinegar, orange slices, cinnamon and spices and some honey all brewed together for hours in a crockpot…mmmm! And it’s non-alcoholic so the kiddos can enjoy it as well 🙂

So I am taking a much needed and I think well earned break from all the madness of today getting ready for our Christmas Party with “The Group.” Matthew is sleeping peacefully upstairs and Jadon & Lilly are having “tea and potatoes & pretzels” in the loft. Where they come up with these combinations I’ll never know. I feel on top of things at the moment, all will be ready for when Tim gets home so he doesn’t have to do much, the presents are wrapped and under the tree,….okay Jadon & Lilly are fighting…hold on….

Okay, sorry I’m back 🙂 Man these breaks can be short-lived. Ahh well, as a mother of 3 I’ll take any break I can get. Yesterday, a few old schoolmates and I had a rendezvous with a teacher from highschool. I don’t think I have seen her except maybe once since highschool, but she was definitely one of my favorite teachers. She taught Biology and Earth Science and I was in her Bio class freshman year. We had a lot of great discussions and I got to dissect my first critter in her class. A pig! Yeah, I enjoyed that way too much…oh well. Anyway, it was great to see her yesterday, aside from her hair which she had grown out, she really looked about the same as she did 9 years ago when I was a freshman. She is so sweet and I am so blessed to have had her as a teacher. She is one of those teachers you look back later and think, “Wow, that teacher really made a difference in my life!” I know that sounds cliché, but seriously, she is one of those.

Last year, Christmas was over and done way too quickly and I felt like I barely had time to enjoy it! I was pregnant with Matthew at the time and my morning sickness had kicked into high gear by that point. I am not sure if that had anything to do with it, but I remember thinking after it was all over, “Wow, I felt like I barely got to relax and just enjoy it!” I vowed to myself that next year I would be different. And now next year is here and I am very happy with the holidays so far! I feel like my kids have really gotten into the Christmas spirit, helping me wrap gifts, singing carols and decorating. We’ve spent more time this year with family and friends, and this year we will be celebrating Christmas for 3 days straight! Starting tomorrow morning with presents at our house, it will be non-stop family and fun for the next few days and I couldn’t be happier. I love family. Although, I was telling Tim that next year, I think we will start having Christmas morning at our own house with the kids. Since we are all “grown-up” now with 3 kids and a “real family” 🙂 It will be different not being at my mom’s for Christmas morning, but I am also excited to make our own traditions with our kids. It’s still amazing to me that Tim and I have a family! I love it 🙂

Well, break-time is almost up, so I’ll do some Q&A and sign off:

505. What do you feel like complaining about? Honestly, nothing right now. It’s a good feeling 🙂

506. What do you feel like celebrating? CHRISTMAS!

507. Have you lost touch with anyone you should call? Yes 😦

508. Deep in thought do you forgive everyone? I’m not sure what this means, maybe, do I forgive people from my heart? Yes I do.

509. Can a person speak out against their government and still support their country? Absolutely.

510. What do you have faith in? God

511. Do you believe your government has a file on you somewhere? I’m sure they do. But I worry less about that than about the file I have and am constantly adding to in Heaven…

512. What (not who) do you care about? I care about clothes.

513. What is the worst thing that could possibly happen to you? Separation from God, or on a less theological note, something happening to Tim or the kids.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

