Wrapper, Not a Gangster…Also, the 70s.

Dear Diary,

So this morning….

Okay, yes I know it’s been awhile since I’ve written. School is my excuse 🙂 But now that I am done for the semester, I have a little more time to write…. okay so back to my story…

So this morning, Jadon and Lilly came downstairs and saw the fruit of my insomnia last night…a bunch of wrapped gifts sitting under the Christmas tree and wrapping paper, boxes, tape, bows, ribbon and tags all strewn about. A big gasp escaped Jadon before he asked, “Mom!!! Are those ALL for me?!?!?!” I laughed and said, “No, actually none of those are for you. Those are all for your family.” No offense to his family, but he said, “What family?!” As if there was no one else on the face of the earth who should be getting those presents but him. “You know, Bug… this one’s for Grandmama, this one’s for Granddad, here’s one for Grandpa….etc.” His shoulder slumped slightly and he said, “But mom, do I get presents too?” I put my hand on his head and said in an excited voice, “We’ll see!” He looked up and me and rejoiced. He must have forgotten that his birthday was only 2 months ago and he received a lot of presents then because he looked like he had never been bestowed a gift in his life. Ahhh my dramatic children… He hopped over to the breakfast table and he and Lilly sat down so I could get them breakfast and he said, “So mom, when do I get my presents?” I said, “Well Bud, you shouldn’t ask about them, that’s not very polite. But if you’re a good little boy, you’ll get them in 3 days.” (We’re doing our gifts on Christmas Eve this year) He must not have heard the first part of what I said (how convenient…) and again he asked, “Will I get presents?”  (“Pushing….pushing…pushing…”) I smiled and retorted, “Are you gonna be a good boy?” To which he said with great conviction and a hint of sarcasm, “I am NOW!” *sigh*…..

There’s a little snowman that sings, “Jingle Bells” that the kids love and so they push the button constantly. Well, we’ve had him for 5 years and he is going a little flat. You how when something or someone is singing flat, you automatically make “that face.”? You know the one…where your head goes to one side a bit and your face scrunches up and somehow you think that by making this face, it will help them correct the pitch. It never does and you just wind up looking ridiculous. Well, I wrapped gifts all through breakfast and had finished 2 rolls of paper and you all know what that means….the left over rolls become light sabers. I was so buried in paper, bows and ribbon that I couldn’t get up to turn on some festive Christmas music to set the mood, so the soundtrack to my Christmas present wrapping was the “dunk… dunk… dunk” noise of those cardboard tubes and a little snowman singing flat while I made “that face.” How unfabulous.

My daughter is a goof. She enjoys playing like she is sleeping. And not for like 10 seconds until her eyes pop open and she says, “I’m awake! hahaha” No, she likes to pretend to sleep for a few minutes. All the while she “snores.” I would be scared to death of sleeping with her if she actually snored that way. She sounds like a rabid dog, growling most ferociously and making hacking sounds. It starts off pretty quiet, but if you ignore her, she’ll get louder and louder until either you say, “Lilly, are you sleeping?” to which she’ll reply, “Shhhh please! I’m tryin’ da sleep!” (well fine then, Miss Thing!) OR,…she’ll keep going until she realizes you’re ignoring her, so she’ll “wake-up” and say, “Okay, I’m done sleeping for now.” but then 5 seconds later, she’ll say, “Okay Mom…I’m gonna go to sleep now…” and plop her head back down and resume “snoring.” It’s funny how often toddlers crave acknowledgement.

Q&A Time!

501. If you could rename yourself what would your new name be? Well, growing up I always wanted to be named Natalie…but now I think my name fits me best.

502. What is your Glam Rock name (the name of your first pet plus your street name)? Sasha Elizabeth

502. What is your Glam Rock name (the name of your first pet plus your street name)? Yeah but I can’t remember what it was about…hmmm lol

504. What is your favorite song from the 70’s? Oh man! There are way too many favorites of mine. I like pretty much that whole era of music… here’s some of my favs, one from every year in the 70s:

 “Let It Be.” -The Beatles (70); 

 “Just My Imagination” -The Temptations (71); 

 “Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl)” -Looking Glass AND “American Pie” -Don McLean (72);

 “Let’s Get It On.” -Marvyn Gaye (how could you not like that song??) (73)

“The Way We Were” -Barbara Streisand (74)

“Fame” -David Bowe (75)

“Play That Funky Music” -Wild Cherry (76)

“Dancing Queen” -Abba (77)

“Three Times a Lady” -Commodores (78)

“My Sherona” -The Knack (79)

And also, any song by Bread 🙂

Till Next Time,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

