Experiments in Economical Existance.

Dear Diary,

Well, I have decided that my family needs to eat healthier. I have also decided that I am not going to be spending any more than $140 per pay period (2wks). So here’s my challenge: Feed 4 people HEALTHY food on $70 or less per week and once Matthew starts eating solids next month, it will be 5 people. Can I do it? How low can I go under $70? Let’s do this! We get paid tomorrow and so our grocery shopping will begin tomorrow!

Thanks to some friends of mine, I have been inspired to do 2 things. 1- eat healthier, more fruits and veggies. I am embarrassed to say I am not giving my family enough of those right now and I need to do better. As the housewife and cook, it’s my job to make sure my family gets proper nutrition and I have been slacking. So frozen pizzas, you are now for ONLY in cases of emergency 🙂  2- I am going to be making Matthew’s baby food. I think I’ll buy some jars 10 or so from the store just so I can have the jars for taking food along on the go, but other than that, I will not be buying pre-made baby food. I hear from these awesome friends and family, that it’s not only more economical, but it’s easier than it seems!

So with these 2 goals in mind, here’s my game plan: I will be going to Sam’s Club to buy a BIG bag of frozen fresh chicken. For $20, I’m thinking this bag will last us hopefully a whole month. I will also be using Bountiful Baskets. Here’s a link to their website: http://www.bountifulbaskets.org/ Here’s how it works: I registered on the site today and tomorrow when we get paid, I will buy a “co-op basket” for $15. I go to a pick-up site on Saturday morning at 7am which for me is about 3 minutes away and bring something to put my produce in. Every time you go, you get different things, but here’s what my sister-in-law got last time she went all for $15: a pineapple, a bunch of bananas, apples, pears, 7 sweet potatoes, 3 parsnips, tomatoes, spinach, lettuce, and grapes. That’s just the basic co-op basket. They also have “add ons” which you can purchase for an additional fee.

So here’s my grocery list so far for this next week (just for food, not household stuff like toilet paper and paper towels)

Bag of frozen chicken @ Sam’s Club: $20 (lasts all month)

Co-Op Basket of fruits and veggies @ Bountiful Baskets: $15 (lasts 1 wk)

Add-on from BB- 9 grain Bread (5 loaves): $10 (lasts 2 wks.)

Add-on from BB-

 

2 thoughts on “Experiments in Economical Existance.

  1. THAT’s the way to do it!! Yay! I may have a few ideas you can use from my days of feeding 6 of us…we’ll see. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

