Shoes & Ships & Sealing Wax…Well, Mostly Just Shoes.

Dear Diary,

So you know those boots that are really “in” right now? Well, it took a good amount of courage on my part, but I found some I really liked and bought them. For the longest time, I have been afraid of buying black tall boots because I didn’t want to look like “that girl” who walks around in “hooker boots.” Well, I finally settled on boots that look like these (the buckle is a little different, but other than that, they are the same.)

I felt like these would not be mistaken for “hooker boots” because they look more like “equestrian style riding boots” with a modest heel. So I had the perfect pair of boots… so I thought. I also found this adorable “moto- jacket” at Forever 21 for only $24.50

I paired these two with dark skinny jeans and a black tank top. I thought I looked pretty fierce. So while visiting Tim in Baltimore, we decided to walk down to Little Italy, which was about 3 miles or so from our hotel. About halfway there, we were strolling along and I was enjoying the breeze immensely! (If you’ve read previous blogs of mine, you’ll know why 🙂  ) and feeling as fabulous as could be. There were a lot of people out that afternoon because there was an Orioles game, so all the fans decked out in orange, were making their pilgrimage to Camden Yards. About 5 feet behind us, there was a small family: Dad, Mom and son who was probably about 6 or 7. So they were talking in hushed tones, so naturally, I tuned in to eavesdrop on their conversation. And as Emma, the nosy housekeeper in the movie “White Christmas” would say, “You stick your nose in other people’s business and eventually you find out things you wish you hadn’t.” The conversation I overheard went like this:

Wife: Yeah, those are definitely hooker boots.

Husband: Yeah,…wonder what corner she’s working….*chuckle*

Wife: *laugh* *sigh of disdain*

I could feel my face getting hot with embarrassment. I had seen tons of women out that weekend wearing very similar boots and pea coats and not once had I thought they looked like hookers. I tried to make it better by telling myself, it was because of the leather jacket paired with the leather boots. Maybe a bit too much for the somewhat less edgy East Coast? I sulked all the way to dinner in Little Italy. I tried to keep my head up and walk with all the fierceness of Tyra Banks, but you know where that got me? Almost to the ground after tripping on one of their mile-high curbs. *sigh* Very unfabulous. Luckily, Tim was right there to catch me and I made a quick recovery, laughed it off and sailed with the utmost dignity into the little pizza place for dinner. Why do these things always happen to me? Tim had to keep answering the same question over and over for the rest of the night, “Babe, are you SURE these don’t look like hooker boots??” Thankfully, I married a very patient man who reassured me with genuine earnestness, that no, these were not hooker boots.

I had trouble with shoes this last weekend. When talking to Tim on the phone before coming out, he said, “Wear shoes you are comfortable walking in…like tennis shoes.” I laughed and said, “HA! Not likely. Tennis shoes are SO not cute. I’ll find some comfortable heels.” So I did.

I can hear you laughing… stop it. They are one of the most comfortable pairs of heels I have ever owned. So the first morning, we set out from our hotel, down to the harbor to board a water taxi that would take us to Fell’s Point, where they were having some sort of festival. I had slipped flip-flops into my purse just in case I got tired of walking in heels, but was determined to wear these fabulous heels all day. After all, it’s hard to wear heels like this at home when you’re carrying a baby and a diaperbag and a purse and trying to hold on to 2 toddlers. I was going to wear these heels come hell or high water. Well, hell came in the form of cobblestone streets. As soon as we got off the water taxi and walked to the street where the festival was, I looked down at the very old cobblestone street we would be walking on and thought as I stepped down onto it, “Oh how cute! Cobblestone streets! So picture-EEEEEEEEESQUE!” And that is how it sounded in my head, because this is how it looked on the outside:

Down I went, clutching Tim’s arm. Thankfully I was not in a dress or skirt. Then stupidly, I thought, “It’s okay, I can get the hang of this.” I went about 2 steps and down I went…again. I stood up and Tim said, “Babe, why don’t you put on your flip-flops?” Well, I am nothing if not determined and I said, “No, I’ll get the hang of IIIIIITTTTT.” *cue fall…yes, again.* I looked up and realized we were about halfway across this little road. I groaned and said, “Okay, let’s go sit on that curb over there so I can change my shoes.” About 5 or 6 falls later, we reached the curb. I slipped the heels off and put on my flip-flops while sneering at the cobblestones. Was that my dignity in the deep crevices in between them? I stood back up, shook out my hair, donned my shades, grabbed Tim’s arm and off we went. We had a fabulous time until we sat down for lunch at Kooper’s Tavern. Have you ever tried walking on cobblestone in flip-flops? That did a number on my feet and it felt like I had put my feet into a blender. Not a bone was in its proper place. Thankfully, after lunch, my feet were feeling better, so we left Fell’s Point and went back to the hotel for a nap. And yes, I did admit to Tim that he had been right about the tennis shoes thing.

Question and Answer time!

326. Are you able to have conversations with and become friends with people who are not like you and are interested in different things than you are? Yes!

327. Are strangers more beautiful or frightening to you? depends on the stranger. we got approached by some creepy drug addicted stranger this weekend and let me tell you…nothing beautiful about this man haha.

328. What stops you from doing everything you want to do? Nothing, where there’s a will, there’s a way.

329. Can you think of three adjective that do not apply to you at all? Well, after this weekend, I would have to say: Dignified, balanced and smart. Haha.

330. How do you feel about Jeremy Jaynes, who got a nine year prison sentence for spamming people with junk email (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeremy_Jaynes)? He better not get internet privileges in the slammer.

331. Do you know who the current premier of China is? No, nor do I know the price of tea.

332. Are you very active? I have 3 kids under the age of 4, you tell me.

333. Is there a city that reminds you of the landscape of your brain? I haven’t been to a city like that yet.

334. Have you ever loved someone who has loved you back? Yes, many people. It’s a great feeling!

335. Is it really being ‘in love with’ someone if the other person doesn’t love you? Yes, I think you can be in love with someone who isn’t in love with you. It’s sad, but I think, possible.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

