Babies of Mine

Dear Diary,

Babies Don’t Keep
by Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.

Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo

The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

Well, i was gonna get some more housework done this afternoon, but matthew needed some snuggles to get to sleep this afternoon

…so here i sit happy as can be because my babiest baby loves to snuggle with me 🙂

Just for fun, here’s some pictures of each of my kids when they were about the age Matthew is now…you can’t tell they are related can you? 🙂

Jadon James

Lillian Ashley

Matthew John Frederick

They really look alike don’t they? Especially the boys 🙂 I love that I’ve got 2 boys! And of course my Princess, I couldn’t imagine life without her either and I am so glad I’ve only got one. Our household could not contain more than 2 princesses (me included of course 🙂 )

I am going to miss having little babies, they are growing so fast. Although I am more and more at peace with this and am overjoyed at the progress I’ve seen them make so far and so very excited to watch them continue to learn and grow.

This one will be short and sweet today, but here’s the Q&A section and in the spirit of babies, here’s some Q&A about my babies and being a mom:

Age: 23

How many children do you have? 3

How old are they? 3,2, & 7wk

 
Occupation (optional): SAHM
How would you describe what it is like to be a mother? It’s a mindblowing, challenging, and FUN experience!
What would you say is/are the best part/s of being a mother and having children? Watching them develop their personalities and watching them learn.

What are the most challenging aspects of being a mother? Trying to figure out how to best raise and discipline them. Each one is a bit different.
What do you wish people had told you about mothering before you became a mother? Well, I had it coming from every direction, I don’t think there is anything someone didn’t tell me…I wish I had believed them more about how fast it goes though.
What advice would you give a woman who is about to become a mother? Enjoy it! Don’t overthink it, just have fun and be in the moments you are in. Take lots of pictures and video and keep a journal of some sort.

Describe a memorable, heart-warming event between you and one of your children? (What happened? How did it make you feel about being a mother?). So far, my favorite moment with all three of my babies together was right after Matthew was born and Tim brought Jadon & Lilly in to see him and Matthew was sleeping. He woke up when he heard their voices and was trying so hard to open his eyes to see them. I just know he recognized their voices and was trying to see his new best buddies. He didn’t really have that reaction so soon with anyone else. Also, lately, I’ve been watching Jadon become more and more protective of Lilly and Matthew and I. It’s so cool to see him turning into a little protector already 🙂

 

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

