Such a GOOD Day!

Dear Diary,

So last night was the first night that Matthew slept through the night! He ate at 8:30pm, went to sleep and didn’t wake till 5:30am! Good boy:) We’ll see how tonight goes! I’ve been pretty happy with his previous habit of eating every 4 hours during the day and then sleeping a 5.5hr stretch at night before waking to eat and then going right back to sleep for another 4 hrs. Beautiful. But of course if he is ready to go all the way through the night, I welcome that with open arms!

Today was a great day! We (the kids and I) woke up and had breakfast and then got dressed and spent the ENTIRE day out together. We went to Kohl’s where I shopped my favorite section: The Clearance Section, and wound up getting 2 really cute shirts that were originally $45 and $25 both for a total of $9 and change. Cha-CHING! I was so excited! Then we went to Target where I went straight to the clearance section of the kids department. I bought Lilly an adorable shirt for church and then Jadon, who felt left out pointed out that I had not gotten him a shirt. Well, he actually did need another nice shirt so I let him pick out a polo shirt. He picked out a very nice one all by himself, I was so proud! I also discovered that Target had their Circo Brand jeans and shorts on sale for $3.50 each! This was quite serendipitous because the Circo brand have elastic waistbands. My kids have this thing where they are very tall and not very big around… wonder where they got that?! šŸ™‚ So I can buy bigger sizes that have the elastic waistbands and they fit better. So I stocked up and bought them each a few pairs of jeans and some khakis. For $32 and change, I walked out with 5 pairs of pants and 2 shirts for the kids. Cha-CHING!

Then we went down to Tempe Beach Park splash-pad where we spent the rest of the afternoon splashing around and playing. Matthew even got a little wet and liked it! I was holding him and watching Jadon & Lilly play around and this girl who was probably about my age comes up to me and asks how old Matthew was, so I told her “He will be 6 weeks tomorrow!” She remarked on how cute he was and then asked is Lilly was my little sister. I chuckled and said, “No, she’s mine.” The girls eye’s got wide and then she pointed to Jadon and I said, “Yep, him too!” I thought she was going to fall over. “Wow! You don’t play around!” She said in an impressed tone. I laughed and she asked how old I was. I told her and she just shook her head and laughed. I smiled and wasn’t sure how to take that, but she went back to her spot on the side so I didn’t worry about it much after that. I’m used to people giving me a hard time about my age and how many kids I have. Later, as I walked by her and her boyfriend, she asked me, “Are you going to have any more?” I laughed and said, “No, this little guy is our last.” She said, “Oh! You’re married!” I nodded and she asked in a rather ominous voice, “How do you like it being married?” I put on my biggest and most sincere smile and said emphatically, “I LOVE it!” She looked suprised again and said, “Really? How long have you been married?!” I answered that we have been married almost 5 years. “Wow! Highschool sweethearts huh, he is your first love.” She said wistfully. I agreed with her and could tell her boyfriend was getting annoyed that I was making marriage out to be such a great arrangement. “Well that’s great!” She said and I said, “Yeah, you know, we have so much fun. We love it.” She looked suprised again and I thought I better stop saying such shocking things before her eyebrows permanently became a part of her hairline. We went our separate ways and I thought to myself, “How do people see me as a young mom?” I of course wear my wedding ring, but obviously people don’t always look for that I guess. I try to be the best mom/wife I can be and it really brings me so much joy. As I got home today and took Matthew out of his carseat and settled down on the couch to snuggle with him and watch Jadon & Lilly play, I thought to myself for the “ump-teenth” time today, “I am BLESSED, and I am HAPPY!” I try to be a great mom to my kids. I want them to look back when they get older and think, “I had such a FUN and wonderful childhood. My mom was fun, happy, knowledgeable, Christ-like, giving, spontaneous, and energetic. She played with me and enjoyed it, she taught me things enthusiastically, she diciplined me but also, she led by example and we sang and danced a lot and didn’t care who saw or what they thought.” I heard this song by Taylor Swift (who is one of my favorite song writers) awhile ago and it really inspires me to be a good mom. It also reminds me of my mom šŸ™‚

“I’m five years old it’s getting cold i’ve got my big coat on
i hear your laugh and look up smiling at you i run and run
past the pumpkin patch and the tractor rides look now the sky is gold
i hug your legs and fall asleep on the way home

i don’t know why all the trees change in the fall
i know you’re not scared of anything at all
don’t know if snow white’s house is near or far away
but i know i had the best day with you today

i’m thirteen now and don’t know how my friends could be so mean
i come home crying and you hold me tight and grab the keys
and we drive and drive until we found a town far enough away
and we talk and window shop till i forgot all their names

i don’t know who i’m gonna talk to now at school
but i know i’m laughing on the car ride home with you
don’t know how long it’s gonna take to feel ok
but i know i had the best day with you today

i have an excellent father
his strength is making me stronger
god smiles on my little brother
inside and out he’s better than i am

i grew up in a pretty house and i had space to run
and i had the best days with you

there is a video i found from back when i was three
you set up a paint set in the kitchen and you’re talking to me
it’s the age of princesses and pirate ships and the seven dwarfs
daddy’s smart and you’re the prettiest lady in the whole wide world

now i know why all the trees change in the fall
i know you were on my side even when i was wrong
and i love you for giving me your eyes
staying back and watching me shine and i didn’t know if you knew
so i’m taking this chance to say that i had the best day with you today”

If you want to listen to it, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hq4W68_h6rw

Till Next Time,

Ashley

2 thoughts on “Such a GOOD Day!

  1. I love you so very much, Ashley Mae. Raising you (and your sisters) was like a string of really good days that turned into such a good, blessed life. You are such an amazing mom. So glad you are my daughter and my friend.

  2. You are doing a great job Ashley. We did have many good days together, many were easy a few were hard, but in the end they were all good. Love you my girl!

Leave a Reply

