Training Wheels…off

Dear Diary,

“A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.” -William Shedd.

So today was my very first day at home alone with all three of my little ducks. I would say overall the day was a success…

Ahhh… this morning got off to a pretty good start. Matthew is still trying to get onto a schedule of eating and sleeping and it’s taking him longer than it did for Jadon and Lilly, but slowly, he’s getting it. I know that consistency and patience will definately pay off here, so I am trying to work at this with patience. Jadon and Lilly were off to a great start and were being nice and quiet while Matthew was napping upstairs and I was on the phone with the billing department of my OB’s office. After breakfast, and another feeding for Matthew, we settled down in the family room to watch some shows. I hadn’t gotten sufficient sleep last night and I was so sleepy. Despite my best efforts, my eyelids got the better of me and I fell asleep on the couch for probably 20-25 minutes while the kids were sitting nicely and watching shows… so I thought. Well when I woke up, I noticed that Lilly was holding some envelope looking thing and so I had her bring it over to me. I looked at it trying to figure out what it was and then I saw Jadon looking awfully suspicious over on the loveseat with a blanket up to his neck. “What do you have, Bug?” I asked. He smiled sheepishly and pulled out my vinyl record of the Glenn Miller Band. My jaw dropped and I had to mentally count to 10 to remind myself not to overreact and get as mad as I felt. My hormones are still a bit out of whack and getting back to normal. I could not believe they had tag-teamed and gotten into that! They’ve never touched it before but of course the moment I fall asleep, all bets are off. I kicked myself for falling asleep and thanked God that they hadn’t ruined or broken the record. Today was also the first day that I started homeschooling Jadon through pre-school! He was very excited and so am I! I’ve got all sorts of fun ideas, it’s all a matter of sorting them out and making them easy to learn and understand. He is going thru a pre-school workbook and today he was learning how to trace lines and write his name. He enjoyed tracing the straight lines and even the wavy lines, but when he got to the zig-zag lines, he began to doubt himself and he wanted to give up. <Insert Life Lesson Here> I had to check my impatient “just do it already” attitude and remember that he doesn’t like to do things unless he can do it perfectly the first time. He needed some patience and gentle guidance. “These lines are making me crazy, Mom.” he said. So I got up and stood next to him and had him take it very slowly and when he finished tracing the zig-zag lines, the look of pride on his face was priceless. I know I will be getting “schooled” as well throughout this process, but I am looking forward to learning more about Jadon and how to relate to him through this. Lilly is doing “school” as well, haha which basically means she sits and colors while Jadon does his schoolwork. I am excited to see where this all goes! After lunch, it was naptime and for after I put Jadon and Lilly down for a nap, I looked at the clock and realized I had a whole 45 minutes before Matthew needed to get up from his nap and eat again! I felt elated and decided to reward myself with a nice shower and some rest. Matthew woke up right on time (yay!) and ate pretty well and then we snuggled for a bit before he fell back asleep. I had planned ahead yesterday and stuck a frozen pound of raw ground beef into the fridge to defrost overnight so I could make meatloaf for dinner! Well, I went downstairs to put it together and put it into the oven. I congratulated myself on being to smart as to plan ahead for this meal so that it would be super easy as I opened the fridge and got out the plate with the ground beef on it. I got out all the ingredients and sprayed the pan and got ready to make it. I went to grab the ground beef and discovered it was still pretty frozen. I groaned and remembered I had put it on the top shelf of the fridge where it’s the coldest and that I had done this in the past. Well, I guess meatloaf is off the menu for today. I pulled out some chicken from the freezer that we had cooked up a little while ago and decided chicken and rice would have to do. I put the ground beef back into the fridge (on the bottom shelf this time) and I popped the chicken into the oven and went back upstairs pouting because I had really been hungry for meatloaf. *sigh* Oh well, tomorrow’s another day. I got the kids up from their naps and sent the older ones to play in the loft while I fed Matthew. Tim got home shortly thereafter and gave me the big hug I needed. He helped me get dinner finished and on the table- bless him. Day one down and done and you know? It wasn’t so bad! I can do this! 🙂

I am planning on publishing my PSA on Post Partum Depression and Psychosis on either Thursday or Friday so there’s still time in to send me your comments, questions and suggestions!

Okay, here’s the part we all know and love…

280. What is your worst daily habit? A big bowl of ice cream. I have a love-hate relationship with ice cream.

281. If you had your choice which one TV show would you have canceled? Just one?? Well, I guess it would be My Name is Earl…I’ve never really watched it, but everytime I see a preview for it, I throw up a little in my mouth.

282. Do you like the taste of sweet or salt? Depends on my mood. Yeah I’m complicated like that.

283. Are you very precise about what words you use to describe your feelings and thoughts? Yes, for the most part 🙂

284. What do you feel the most guilty about? I try my best not to hold on to guilt or have regrets, but I do have one. When my great-grandma was in the hospital and then later at home dying, I didn’t go to visit her for 2 reasons: I hate hospitals and also, I convinced myself that I would only remember her as being so sick and frail if I went to see her that way and that’s not how I wanted to remember her. Still makes me cry that I didn’t go to see her, but I have confidence and peace that I will see her again one day in heaven and that helps.

285. Do you meditate?  I meditate on lots of things, but most importantly, I meditate on God.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

