What a Beautiful Day :)

Dear Diary,

I have fallen head over heels in love with a boy. His name is Matthew John Frederick. He was born at 5:32pm tonight and weighed 7lbs 8oz and 20 inches long. He is perfect and I am in love 🙂 That’s the short of it, here’s the long story:

Well, they wound up giving me pitocin after they put the epidural in because my contractions were irregular and starting to space out. They kept me on it for a few hours until 4:30pm or so when the doctor came in to break my water. At about 5:15pm, the nurse came in to check my dialation and I was at 8cm! Very good progress! My family started to come back in and I felt another contraction which told me it was about time to push. I told the family it was time to leave and told my nurse I was getting ready to push. The next two contractions took me from 8cm to 10cm (OUCH!) and the doctor came in and they got me into position and 4 contractions later, out he came at 5:32pm! He was holding on to the umbilical cord and it took him a little while to start crying, but the boy has a great set of lungs in him and eventually he put them to good use 🙂 He laid up on my chest for awhile while they delivered the placenta and got me all cleaned up and then they took him away to clean him before his first feeding. We settled in to feed him and he was a champ! When he was done, Tim went and got Jadon and Lilly from the waiting room and brought them in. They were so excited and happy to meet their little brother. Matthew was trying so hard to open his eyes to see his new best buddies. I am certain he recognized their voices and was trying so hard to see them. It was precious. Now I have all my little ducks 🙂 Mommy duck is very content, and so is Daddy. We will be in the hospital for a few days since I had Group B Strep, they wanna make sure everything is good, so we should be heading home Thursday night or Friday morning! For now, my newest little guy is snuggled up on Daddy’s chest waking up so I can feed him again. I am so excited to begin adventures with my now complete family. More tomorrow!

Till Next Time,

(A very tired but VERY happy) Ashley

2 thoughts on “What a Beautiful Day :)

  1. I checked my email more than 50 times today to see how you are. I am so glad you and the baby are doing well. I love you girl! You are amazing! Best wishes to you and your family!
    Love
    Haleh

  2. Oh…It WAS a VERY Beautiful day!!! And a VERY, VERY Beautiful boy!!!

    Thanks for the memories and the honor of the name!

    Love you all, Papaw & Momo

Leave a Reply

