Almost Done!

Dear Diary,

So yesterday I had my 38 week doctor’s appointment. I dropped the kids off at my mom’s house around 9:40am so I could get to my appointment which started at 10:10am. I got there right on time and got checked in and sat down in the waiting room. I enjoy people watching in the OB/GYN office, there are always so many different types of people there. There are the wide-eyed obvious first timers who remind me of highschool freshman- just so happy to be there and finding everything so new and fascinating. Then there are the “more seasoned” mommies who are probably on their 2nd or 3rd baby. I consider myself to fall into this category. While I never cease to be amazed at the miracle of new life, I’ve been around this block a few times and not much phases me because in general, I know what to expect. There are mommies who look happy, mommies who look scared and mommies who look annoyed… one thing we all look is: tired 🙂 Then there are the entire families who come to the OB appointments and I can’t help but wonder if they were invited or if they invited themselves to the chagrin of the mommy-to-be. Then there are the older ladies who are there for GYN reasons and those fall into 2 categories usually. The first category just look at you with a combination of nostalgia and encouragement like, “You can do this honey, I did it long ago when we didn’t have the kind of resources they do now. You’re gonna be just fine.” I like those ladies. Then there are the judgemental ones who stare down their nose at you like, “You child, what business have you having babies?” These ladies are not my favorite, but I try to over-compensate and instead of looking bored and tired in the waiting room like the other “seasoned mommies” and try to look confident and in control. I had a lot of time to people watch yesterday since I sat in the waiting room for like 20 minutes before getting called back. The nurse weighed me and took my blood pressure and listened to Baby’s heart which no matter how many babies you have or how many times you hear it, is one of the most beautiful and comforting sounds in the world 🙂 Then she said, “I’ll let the Doctor know you’re here and he’ll be in, in a minute.” So I sat…. and sat…. and…sat. It was 40 minutes before the Doctor finally came in. I was pretty irritated, but he was really old so I felt bad being annoyed or at least showing that I was annoyed. After that, the appointment went pretty well. They are still concerned about me being at risk for falling because of my hips, so next Monday, I have my last appointment and will be scheduling an induction for sometime next week! (Unless of course Baby decides to come before then) It’s so exciting being so close! I am so ready to get this show on the road, hopefully Baby will be too! Guess we’ll see what happens!

We had Lilly’s birthday party this last weekend and it went great! It was so nice to have the family in town for the day and we had a lot of fun. She got a tutu from us that morning so she could wear it to her party and she looked adorable. She also got dress-up clothes, lots of beautiful sun dresses and books and games and of course, the table and chairs that Tim and I painted for her.

My mom made her birthday cake and did a great job! Lilly loved it! She wasn’t too sure about the smoke after she blew out the candles, but she liked the cake and cupcakes!

After the party was over, my family stuck around for a bit and we played Catch Phrase, that was fun! Then everyone was gone around 5pm or so and Tim and I and the kids relaxed for the rest of the day. My wonderful husband let me sleep in the next morning till 11am which was wonderful since I hadn’t slept well the night before. Sunday we hung out around the house and then Sunday night Tim and I rearranged our room… again. Nesting, haha. My husband is awesome, he moved the entertainment center from the loft which we never use into our room by himself. (It’s a huge entertainment center) He didn’t let me help much with that part, but we worked together and got the room all done that night and it looks great! It’s nice having a TV in our room now. When I have insomnia, I can turn on a movie to help me go to sleep instead of having to go downstairs by myself 🙂 Also, it works out nicely for days when I’m feeling bad, the kids can come crash in bed with me and we can watch a movie or their shows! It’s a win-win 🙂

Alrighty then, it’s time for the trivia part!

257. Could you tell real money from counterfeit? Funny story, I used to work at Hallmark when I was a senior in highschool and we had a special pen that we had to mark any $100 bills with that if it turned a certain color, we knew the money was fake. Well, one busy morning I was working and this lady paid for about $18 worth of stuff with a $100 bill (should have been my first clue-haha) and I marked it and the mark looked fine so I stuck it in the drawer and gave her the change. I don’t remember exactly how they found out it was counterfeit, but my manager did immediately but by then it was too late and the lady had left the store. I was so embarrassed, the owners of the store were pretty upset with me for not catching the fake bill. They had me help them review the security tapes which weren’t top of the line, so they couldn’t see much. They asked me to describe the ladies and I redeemed myself a little bit by describing this lady, her clothes, her wallet and her purse to a “T”. I have a photographic memory, so it was pretty easy. The owners, the cop and my manager we very impressed with how much I remembered about her. No idea if they ever caught her, but they made a new policy that we had to get a manager to okay all $100 bills. Yep, that’s my fault.

258. What do you think about school uniforms? Not a fan.

259. What ancient civilization would you most like to visit? Some Celtic civilization I think.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

