Taking Matters Into My Own Hands…Bad Idea.

Dear Diary,

I hate when something bad happens and instead of making  a level-headed decision and relying on God, I take matters into my own hands only to screw it up further and make more of a mess.

A couple years ago, my mom and sisters and I were going to go have a girl’s date on a Saturday morning and see, “Enchanted” in the theaters. We were going to be meeting at the Chandler Mall. I wanted to get to the mall early to get a little shopping done so I left my house early. My car was parked in the driveway that day and when I got out to the car and got in, I realized I’d forgotten to lock my car. I looked inside and my stomach sank. My car had been “rummaged through” and it looked like maybe some stuff had been taken. I groaned and got inside to see what the damage was. Well, my center console had been full of random stuff, nothing valuable (as the “thief” had found by throwing it all over the inside of the car) After my inspection, I came to the conclusion that there had only been 2 things stolen… my ipod dock and my football. Sadly, I was more upset about losing my football than the ipod dock and honestly it made no sense to me why in the world someone would steal a football?! I was so angry! When I get mad, I don’t think straight, I get impulsive and well, just crazy. I decided to inspect the car for prints using my extensive training in forensics from a highschool elective class that I had taken about 3 years ago. I was going to put away this criminal for LIFE! I found some suspicious prints on the car and thought, “HA! I’ve gotcha!” Tim gently reminded me that it’s doubtful the police would be able to do much. I didn’t want to believe him, but I knew he was probably right, so I gave  up for the time being. I got into my car and drove to the mall. As I parked and began walking towards the entrance, I saw a group of about 5 or 6 cops sitting outside the Starbucks having some coffee. My heart raced, COPS! I could get them to look at the car and impress them with my forensics skills and THEN we could lock away that low-life who stole my football! (oh yeah, and the $200 ipod dock) Victory would be MINE!!!!! I could see the newspaper headlines now, “Local Amatuer Detective Solves String Of Car Robberies By Taking Matters Into Her Own Hands: The Ashley Krupnik Story” My picture would be on the front looking fierce and thoughtful and people would ask me to sign their copy and I would be famous! Hollywood would call and then I would get a movie deal in which I would play myself…then a Star on the Hollywood walk of fame…YES!!!! I confidently strode up to the policemen and one of them had stood up as I approached (guess I looked menacing or something) and presented my case to him. I could see an amused smile playing at the corner of his lips and my confidence began to shrink. I told him all about how I found prints and what the perpetrator stole, how I think he got in, etc. Once I finished, this guys eyebrows were literally sitting on top of his head and he looked like he was trying not to laugh. I looked at the guys behind him who were covering their smiles with their coffee and all of the sudden I realized how stupid I had just looked and blushed. The officer kindly explained that I shouldn’t have driven the car anywhere because evidence could have been compromised (duh, I should have known) and also that they can’t accept “evidence” from people other than people licensed to collect it. (DUH!!! I REALLY should have know that.) I didn’t really know what else to say, so I thanked the cops and walked on into the mall to do my shopping. By that time, I was really not in a great mood. I don’t know about you, but I HATE looking stupid in front of people. I met my mom and sisters for the movie and surprise, surprise….I hated it. I was so grouchy, I was pretty much unwilling to even try to like the movie. Of course the second time I saw it, I liked it, but that first time, I did not. I went home and told Tim what had happened at the mall with the cops and he tried to be nice about it but I could tell he wanted to laugh too.

I do this sometimes in my life when I’ve gotten myself into a bad situation, I try to “fix” it myself instead of letting The Professional take care of it. I try to impress Him with my remedies, my solutions and my ideas. In the end, He just smiles behind His coffee (Does God drink coffee?) and lets me know that He is the only one who can “take care of it” for me. Then I wind up embarrassed having brought my ideas to the table when He has the perfect solution with my best interests in mind EVERY time! It’s tough letting go of things when you think you have the right answer but you really know that you don’t.

Well, my OB appointment went okay the other day. I wound up in L&D…yes, again. But this time it was to check the placenta to make sure there was no internal bleeding from how much I’ve been falling lately from the sciatic hip pain I’ve been having. Thankfully Baby and placenta are both just fine. Tonight we are going to walk around the mall for awhile to try to kick start something 🙂 Doubt it’ll work, but if it doesn’t, at least we had some good family time together and exercise can only help me at this point.

Questions & Answers coming up!

233. Do you think there is a lot of similarity between the Harry Potter books and the Lord of the Rings series? Honestly I haven’t read the Harry Potter series nor  do I have any desire to, so I have no idea.

234. Would you consider yourself to be naive? About some things yes, about others….no way.

235. Which of your friends is most likely to go to jail? Kelli, for just being way too awesome. Also, she moved away from me and I think that is a punishable offense! haha

236. What is the smallest amount of money that could be in a public toilet that would make you reach in and grab it? oh wow! that’s gross. Probably a $50? I don’t know! I’ll let you know if I ever get myself into this situation!

237. Would you ever wear real fur? No probably not.

238. Arachnophobia or Eight Legged Freaks? Oh I’m scared of spiders BIG time.

239. What are your feelings about police officers? Haha how appropriate…well, I think they see and have to deal with a lot of crazy people like me haha.

240. what is your favorite line from a song? “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, Look full in His wonderful face. And the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.”

Till Next Time!

Ashley

One thought on “Taking Matters Into My Own Hands…Bad Idea.

  1. Bahhahaha! That was funny Ash! And a really good point to learn too. Why does it take me so long to realize to just ASK Him what to do? He always helps me when I do. Very good reminder. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

