Weekend Adventures

Dear Diary,

We had a pretty great weekend! Aside from our lovely children waking us up at 6:15am on Saturday. Grrr… our Saturday was off to an early start! Way too early in our opinion. Tim and I snoozed together on the couch while the kids ate and watched cartoons. Then we got all dressed and ready to head out for the morning. We went up to Chandler Mall and went shopping. First we went to Hallmark to get some Father’s Day cards. It went okay, except Jadon kept trying to put every superhero or cartoon card (pretty much any card that looked interesting) into the basket he was in charge of holding. Then because I let him pick out a special one for Daddy, he misunderstood I guess and thought the card was a “toy” for him. I felt bad having to convince him that the card was for Daddy for Father’s Day and not for him. He looked disappointed. Oh well. Hallmark was hectic with two little kids who are still learning to keep their hands to themselves. I thought giving Jadon the basket as his “job” to carry would keep his hand occupied, but that was definitely NOT the case. *sigh* Guess we’re gonna keep working on the “no touching” thing. After Hallmark, we decided not to brave Bath & Body Works’ Semi Annual Sale with the kids so Tim took them to the play place while I went alone. I had a gift card I’d been saving since my birthday waiting for the semi-annual sale AND I had a coupon 🙂 I was so excited! I went crazy in the store buying new lotions, perfumes, body sprays and room spray… all sorts of fun stuff! The lady who rang me up at the checkout was very impressed with my shopping skills haha. After the sale, coupon, and gift card, I walked out with about $90 worth of stuff and all I spent was $9. Wahahaha.   

I met up with Tim and the kiddos after my shopping victory and we went to Barnes & Noble to wait for my folks who would be joining us for lunch at the food court in about 25 minutes. Tim took Jadon out to the car to drop off the bags and to talk to him about his behavior and I took Lilly to the kid’s section of B&N. We sat and played with this cool board thing with different locks on it that you can unlock…hard to describe, but Lilly loved it! Then Jadon and Tim joined us and we sat and read some books for a bit before heading to meet up with my parents and sister at the food court. Lunch went pretty well, the kids were pretty well-behaved and I was happy 🙂 ….and tired. I had only gotten about 3.5 hours of sleep the night before due to the combination of insomnia and my kids deciding that 6am was a great time to wake up. Everytime we go to the mall, the kids love to visit the fountains outside, so after lunch was over, we took them over to the fountains so they could watch the water dancing around to Frank Sinatra.

After letting the kids run around  for awhile and get their energy out, we decided it was time to head home and take naps. My folks accompanied us back to Barnes & Noble where we had parked and as we said goodbye I realized maybe we had let the kids (Jadon in particular) expend too much energy at the fountains since evidently Jadon had no more energy to have some self-control. I don’t know the reason, but something didn’t agree with him and he threw a fit. *sigh* WHY GOD? WHY???? We said a quick goodbye and tucked our tails between our legs and scampered out of the mall as fast as we could. Jadon was fine by the time we got outside, but sheesh child! Sometimes I just want to shake him and say, “Why??? You know better!” When we got home, we put the kids down for a much needed nap and watched Ocean’s Thirteen. Later that evening we had some friends over to watch Star Wars. Lilly and Jadon even stayed up to watch some with us! Lilly pooped out and said she was ready to go to sleep about 15 minutes after Episode 1 started, so Tim took her up to bed. Jadon stayed up for a lot of the movie and was pretty cute. He kept asking all these questions to Uncle Mike who is the “Star Wars Expert” in Jadon’s eyes. We watched Episodes 1 & 2 and then out friends left and Tim and I went to bed, hoping the kids would decide to let us sleep in 🙂 (They did!)

I am now 34 weeks along! Woo hoo! I honestly didn’t think I would make it this far when I was in the hospital at 30 weeks. I am so relieved to have made it this far. I only have 2 weeks left on the medication! Yay! The insomnia and heartburn are really taking a toll on my sleep. I average about 4.5 or 5 hours a night which for anyone who knows me knows this is NOT enough sleep for me to function on haha. I gotta have at least 8 hours. But now, on a rough night, I get between 2.5 and 3.5 hours of sleep and on a good night, I might get 6 hours or so. I am ready for these next few weeks to go by fast! Of course it will all be worth it when I am holding my newest little duck in my arms 🙂 Jadon is getting more and more excited about this new little addition. He is really hoping it’s a boy so that the baby can sleep with him. He’s going to be so bummed if it’s a girl and she gets to room with Lilly and not him. But either way, he is very excited. He comes up a few times a day and puts his hand on my belly and asks if the Baby is moving. Usually Baby is quiet then so I tell Jadon to try talking to the baby and see what happens. It’s the cutest thing, he gets really close and starts talking to the Baby and inevitably, Baby wakes up and starts kicking and rolling much to Jadon’s delight. Lilly isn’t quite patient enough for this, but she is still excited. Both of them really do take good care of me as best they can while I’m sick on the meds. Lilly brings me her blankie and babies and Jadon often offers to “fuzzy” my head. Sweet kids. I am so blessed.

Time for some questions and answers!

196. Do you think it’s odd that Americans have freedom of religion and yet call themselves ‘one nation under god’? Yes actually I do haha.

197. In what sense are you a minority? Well, according to all the middle-aged trophy wives with kids the same age as mine who look down their nose at me whenever I am out in public with my kids and my preggo belly, I would venture to say that I am a minority as a 23-year-old mother of 3 who is married and happy with her life. And who has one father for all 3 kids 🙂 haha (Chip on my shoulder?? I have no idea what you’re talking about! haha ahhh that’s another topic for another day’s entry)

198. Are you anti social? Nope.

199. Do you photograph well? I dunno, you tell me 🙂 haha

200. Do you think that human beings would survivor through a nuclear winter? Oh sheesh, I don’t know haha.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

