Tales of the Boy

Dear Diary,

Man, kids ask the most impossible questions! Yesterday we were in the car driving and I had a classic rock radio station on and we were listening to, “Owner of A Lonely Heart.” Naturally Jadon asked (as he does with EVERY song we hear) “Mom, what’s this song called?” I gave him the name of the song and he got quiet while we listened and danced along. Then a second later he said, “Mommy, why do hearts get broken?” Oooohhhhh boy, what a question! How was I supposed to explain this to a 3 year old?! He thought hearts were actually getting broken in two. I said, “Bug, when someone says that, it’s another way to say they are very sad.” that’s the best I could come up with on such short notice.

“So when someone gets really sad their heart breaks?” and he made a ripping breaking motion.

“Well, their heart doesn’t actually break, it just means they are really sad.”

I won’t spell out the rest of the conversation, but I will say the rest of it lasted for about 10 minutes of me trying to convince him that the human heart does not actually break and that having a “broken heart” is a figure of speech. Oi vey. We’ll see the next time he hears the song what he remembers haha.

The other day I was sitting on Jadon’s bed talking to him before he was going to go down for a nap and he said he had wanted to be a fireman when he grows up. I thought, “Hmmm that’s cool, but weird because he hasn’t really had much exposure to that.” So I said, “You wanna be a fireman, huh bud?”

to which he nodded and said, “Yep!”

I asked, “Why do you want to be a fireman?”

He said, “Well because I just DO!” So I asked him if he knew what firemen did. He said, “They help people!”

So I said, “So you wanna become a fireman so you can help people?”

“Yep!” He said simply.

I kissed him goodnight and left his room feeling very proud of my sweet little boy who wanted to help people. I told Tim about our conversation later that night and said, “Honey, you’ve gotta ask him what he wants to be when he grows up and why.” So on our way home from my parent’s house the following night, Tim asked and got the same answer. “I just wanna help people.” Jadon said. Tim and I smiled and sighed blissfully and continued the drive home.Of course now Lilly wants to be a fireman too because Jadon said he wanted to. Jadon is attempting to nip that in the bud by trying to convice Lilly that only boys can be fireman haha. He seemed confused when we told him that girls can do that too! Then the other day Jadon came over and said, “I’m gonna be a fireman when I grow up and Daddy’s gonna help me!” (Tim had told Jadon before that he would do everything he could to help him become a fireman if that’s what he wanted.) I smiled and said, “I know! That’s great Buddy!” I thought to myself, “How lucky am I to have such a wonderful giving little boy.”

Then yesterday on the way to a friend’s house, Jadon and I were talking in the car and all of the sudden he said, “I don’t wanna be a fireman.” 

My heart sunk a little and I thought, “Okay well that phase was cute while it lasted I guess.” Then I said, “Really Buddy? Well then what do you want to be when you grow up?” Thinking the next thing would be a racecar driver or astronaut.

“I don’t wanna be anything.” He said matter-of-factly.

I said, “You don’t want to be ANYthing?” Immediately I had a moment of panic and thought, “What if he thinks this way forever?! I’m gonna have him living on my couch till he’s 40, he’ll never get married! I’m gonna have a bum for a son! NOOOOOO!!!!!”

“I just wanna be a little kid forever!” He said. I breathed a sigh of relief and kicked myself for freaking out.

“Really? You don’t wanna be a little kid forever Buddy, then you never get to grow up and have a job where you make money, or a house or a car. Don’t you wanna drive a car?” I reasoned.

“Nope. I just wanna be a little kid forever.” He insisted.

I thought about how often I have had these thoughts as an adult thinking I wish there was a way I could have less responsibilities, less worries, less cares. I want all the freedom without the responsibilities. Of course well all know life doesn’t work that way. Jadon interrupted my thoughts and said, “Mommy! Look at that blue car! I want to get that blue car!”

“I’ll use this to my advantage.” I thought as I said, “Well, Bug you can’t have a car if you are a little kid forever. You have to be a grown-up to drive a car.” (Yeah…this statement is debatable…there are way to many kids out there with licenses who have no business driving.)

Jadon got quiet for a minute and I was sure that when faced with such an ultimatum, he would cave and revert back to the sweet little boy who wanted to grow up and help people as a fireman. Finally he said, “Well then you and Daddy can drive it for me!” I was trying so hard not to laugh at this “solution” he proposed because he was serious and I didn’t want to make him feel stupid, but inside I was doubled over laughing so hard. Then a few minutes later he said, “Well, yeah I wanna grow up.”

“I WIN!” I thought naively. I kept my composure and said, “Yeah? Well what do you wanna be when you grow up?”

“I just want a car, Mom.” he said. Should have known.

“Well, Jadon you have to have a job if you want a car.” I said.

“Okay, I wanna be a…..” he thought for a minute and said, “a dad” My heart warmed and I thought, “There’s the sweet boy I know.”

“Well, Bud that’s a great job, but you have to have another job besides that. What do you want to be? How about a fireman?”

“Mmmm…no, I don’t wanna be a fireman.” He said.

“Don’t you wanna help people?” I asked. I was sure he would say, “Yes.”

He thought about this for a minute and said, “No, I don’t wanna help people, I just wanna make monies and have a blue car.”

*sigh* Well, it was good while it lasted.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

One thought on “Tales of the Boy

  1. He is such a sweet boy and so desirous to help and love people. What a precious boy. Not a bit worried about his vacillation – His mother was a bit like that and look how amazingly generous and loving she turned out! =)

Leave a Reply

