Pills N’ Such

Dear Diary,

You know those commercials for medications that list out all the side effects and then by the time it’s over, about half the commercial was just some random guy talking really fast telling you all the horrible things that could happen to you if you take this medicine? Those commercials always make Tim and I laugh because sometimes the symptoms seem worse collectively than the problem you are trying to treat! Well, usually there are two lists of these side effects: the common and the uncommon. Can you guess which symptoms I get? You automatically guessed uncommon didn’t you? Well, you are half right! I get the uncommon AND the common. The whole shabang. For some reason my body seems to overreact to medications I am on so not only do I get the common side effects, I get the weird uncommon ones too. Aren’t I special? 🙂 It seems as though all this nifedipine that I have been taking has just been building up in my system which is good for Baby because that means he/she won’t be coming out (hoepfully) any time super soon. However, all this build-up of medication has been less than pleasant for me. I have asked several people that I know who have been on nifedipine for a few weeks how it affected them. None of them said anything about extreme nausea, headaches after dinner, dizziness etc. Nope, it’s just me. *sigh* Every Saturday night, I try my best to stay up until midnight because at 12:00am, I am officially one week closer to 36 weeks (my doctor’s goal) and still pregnant. I thank God and do a happy dance inside. Sadly, most of my happy dances have to be on the inside these days as the hormones towards the end of pregnancy loosen your joints and make you feel like a 90 year old who may throw your hip if you sneeze too hard much less dance. Anyway, I do this internal happy dance and feel so happy that I have by the grace of God made it to another week. Last night was no different that most Saturday nights, I stayed up per my usual habit until midnight and once it was midnight, I checked the Baby growth monitor on my ipod to see what to expect from Baby this coming week and then turned over and closed my eyes to go to sleep. Instead of being met by my good friend Sweet Slumber, who should come barging in at this hour but my evil nemesis, Nausea. This overwhelming urge to throw-up was ridiculous! I took deep breaths determined not to let this fiend get the better of me and played solitaire on my phone to take my mind off of how bad I was feeling. I always envy Tim for his ability to just fall asleep anytime anywhere no matter how he feels. Whenever he feels sick to his stomach, he says, “Well, I’ll just fall asleep and then I won’t feel it and hopefully when I wake up, I’ll feel better.” Haha ahhhh….Tim. If only it were that simple for me. I have to absolutely comfortable to fall asleep. I cannot sleep when I am nauseas, have a sore throat, stuffy nose, backache, bellyache, headache, or any type of discomfort. It’s very irritating. So awake I was bound to stay until Nausea decided he had stayed long enough and that it was time to leave. Thankfully, this wasn’t too terribly long and I finally fell asleep.

Tim and I have been trying to be more consistant about getting Jadon to stay in his bed at night and it seems to be getting a little better! Hopefully if we stay on top of this, it won’t be an issue much longer.

I am a bit nervous today, we are going out to lunch with my folks at Red Robin and even though most of the time, the kids are pretty well behaved, I still get nervous. Part of this is somewhat justified I think. I get concerned that Jadon will decide to freak out and throw a fit or that Lilly will just flat out refuse to eat her food. The other part of my concerns is how I will look to other people with two out of control kids while I am almost 8 months pregnant with another one. I really need to not focus so much on what other people think of me. I suppose it’s because I used to judge mothers very harshly before I had kids that were old enough to cause trouble in public. I know the things I judged and thought about these mothers and I think to myself, “If I was so quick to cast judgement on people, I wonder how quickly people judge me.” This freaks me out. If I had a superpower, it would be mind reading: for this very reason. I really just need to relax and remember that I am doing my best and that even though my kids are awesome, they are kids, they have bad days too and it’s my job to teach them how to deal with it. Sometimes in one minute, I see a sparkling moment of maturity that makes me beam and glow with maternal pride. I’ve worked so hard and here it is paying off. Then the next minute, I am horrified when I see something I never thought my kids would do, or they do something I’ve been working with them not to do and thought I had nipped it in the bud and rid us of the problem. It’s very easy for me at times to forget all about that first moment of maturity and success and just focus on the shortcomings. That is no way to parent. On the other hand though, I don’t want to ignore the issues that arise by focusing solely on the good things. It’s always all about balance I guess.

Here’s some more “Ashley Trivia”

181. What are your greatest sources for wisdom? God and my Husband.

182. When you were little, where did your parents tell you babies come from? They didn’t really tell me till I was older, but by then I already mostly knew because my little friends at school talked about it haha.

183. What is your favorite band? Caedmon’s Call

184. What’s the best cheesy 80’s song? My favorite is probably “Take On Me.”

185. What’s the best kind of movie to see on a date? Something funny and romantic

186. Do you like to sit in the front, middle or back of the Movie Theater? Middle

187. Have you ever been inside an abandoned building? yep

188. Under what circumstances would you agree to work for free? I’ve worked for free a lot doing volunteer stuff. I enjoy volunteering more than actually working.

189. Candles or strobe lights? Candles

190. Do you think the Lord of the Rings movies are true to the books or did Hollywood change the story too much? I haven’t read the books yet, so I can’t really say.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

