Friends, Fiends and Pretty Pretty Princesses

Dear Diary,

It is an all too common scene played out daily in my house and to my utter mortification, when we go to other people’s houses as well. It begins this way: I am resting on the couch and the kids are in the front room playing, and I hear from Jadon, “Mommy! Lilly and me are playing nicely together!” How nice. Seems innocent enough right? Wrong. Let me tell you what’s really going on here: I am resting on the couch and Jadon is in the front room playing with toys minding his own buisness. Lilly is running around thinking of something to do. Cue Jadon, “Mommy, me and Lilly are playing nicely together!” (Translation: Mommy, Lilly is letting me play by myself!) Lilly stops and looks over at her adoring big brother sitting on the floor by himself with his cars and thinks, “Hmm…let’s have some fun!” So she goes over and stands very close to Jadon who looks up at her and says somethig like, “Oh hi, Lilly.” She then sticks her sticky little hands behind her back and leans to one side and says, “Hi, J.J.” Big brother goes back to playing with cars and as soon as he is “in the zone”, Lilly will reach down and grab a car and then take off running…really fast. Then the madness ensues. Jadon, who feels a bit betrayed by this injustice and very upset, immediately lets out the first word in protest…it’s the same everytime, “MINE!!!!!!” From then on it’s a string of phrases like, “Give it back!” “I was playing with that!” or just, “NOOOO!” mixed in with tears and choked back sobs that all forms an incoherant rant that is almost laughable. Lilly, after she realizes Jadon is after her, begins laughing and shrieking. (After all, this is SO much FUN!) Within a few seconds, Lilly reaches the couch and throws herself on it, the prized toy beneath her, still laughing hysterically. Jadon, not far behind her then throws himself on top of her attempting to retrieve said toy. Lilly’s laughter than turns to that awful scream that literally sounds like a velociraptor as she belts out, “MINE!!!!!!” I close my eyes for a minute wondering how my sweet little angels went from “playing nicely together” to this, is in literally five seconds. FIVE SECONDS!!!!

At this point, I have a few options… 1.) I can let them fight it out. Kids are like cats right? You just have to let them fight it out? Well I tried that approach and let me just say…didn’t work out like I’d hoped. 2.) I can bring out the Big Momma voice and let them have it, “HEY! CUT IT OUT!!!” And then get the toy back from Lilly, hand it to Jadon and then punish Lilly. Well, this approach while effective immediately, doesn’t fix the problem at all because they just aren’t that afraid of Big Momma enough to deter them from repeating this scenerio. OR 3.) I can teach Jadon how to deal with the situation to take the fun out of it for Lilly. Afterall, that’s why Lilly does this in the first place. I gotta be honest, I’m embarrassed how long it took me to figure out Option 3 and put it to use. I used Option 2 quite a bit. However, now that I have discovered and implemented Option 3, this madness has been getting better! Now, Jadon is learning that whenever Lilly takes his toys, he needs to relax and come tell me, “Hey Mom, Lilly took my ___, can you help me please?” Jadon is learning to trust me that I will act in his favor and get him his car or whatever back. It’s nice to see the confidence growing in his face everytime this happens and he comes to me calm and collected ready to calmly collect his toy. I think I’m getting the hang of this “Mommy thing.”:)

So today Lilly discovered that she owns a tiara! I put it on her head after I saw her playing with it and it clicked, she ran to the mirror on her wall and said, “Ooooh!!! I’m pretty! Looky me!” I said, “Lilly, you’re a beautiful princess!” She just laughed and stood back to admire her new look…which she didn’t take off until I made her for naptime. Then when I went to wake her, the first things she said was, “Put my crown on please, Mommy?” Sweet girl. Here’s a few pictures:

That’s me and my Lilly Girl:)

Okie dokie, here’s some questions and answers!

128. Have you ever spoken to a homeless person? Yep yep!

129. Would you ever creep into the subway tunnels to go exploring? Haha maybe in my younger more single days haha now I have too much to live for:)

130. If you could add 70 years to your life but only by making some random person die 70 years sooner would you? No.

132. Were you ever with someone while they died? No

133. Would you rather be a world political leader or a rock star? Rock Star for SURE politics aren’t my bag baby.

134. Have you ever given someone a love letter that you wrote? Yes, and you know what? He saved every one:) heehee.

135. Have you ever sent someone a surprise though the mail? Yes!

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

