Addictions and Bunny Rabbits

Dear Diary,

Hello, my name is Ashley and I am an ice-aholic. It has been about 5 minutes since my last spoonful of crushed ice and I in no way intend to “sober up” and quit. I don’t know what it is because my OB says I am not anemic this pregnancy, but boy do I crave ICE! I go thru a 20 lbs bag every 2 weeks. Here’s my method to getting  “crushed.” I lug the giant bag from my freezer and smash it on the ground a few times and then dive in with a big spoon scraping the bottom of the bag and then lifting thru the big chunks on top. When my spoon emerges from the mountains of ice, there are a few medium size chunks which i brush off back into the bag and underneath is a glorious mound of crushed snow:) delicious! I devour the first spoonful and dive right back in. Yes, the bag is for me only unless Tim wants ice for something, we get a new bag for company…I may be an addict, but I’m not gross! haha. It has become almost pitiful the way I go thru this ice. I will stand at the counter for about 2 minutes shoveling snow down my throat as fast as I can. Then I will put the bag into the freezer and stand there and take one more (okay, 3 more) spoonfuls. Then I will close the freezer and walk away. On the way to wherever I am going, I can guarantee you I will think to myself, “I need more ice! But I have to turn around and walk all the way back to the freezer…this could count as exercise, right?” About 4 out of 5 times, I turn myself right around and slink back to the freezer as if someone is watching, judging, staring….no one ever is, usually it’s just Tim laughing. I don’t care, I’ve got to have more ice! I grab my spoon and whip open the freezer. As a blast of chilled air hits my face, I breath it in and let out a contented sigh. I lug the bag out again and bang it on the floor, sling it up to the counter and indulge. I make myself feel better about this by telling myself there is no fat or sugar in ice and that it helps keep me hydrated. I even resort to using the ice as a reward for myself when I am in the middle of a task I don’t feel like finishing, I think to myself, “If I finish, I get ice!” That usually motivates me to finish whatever I am doing and then trumphantly march to the freezer and…well you know the rest. Sad? Maybe, but I can stop anytime I want to:)

Today was a relatively good day! The kids and I woke up and had some breakfast and then went to the park to go to the Splash Pad with Jennifer and her kiddos. Sadly, it was super windy today so my kids were not into the whole “let’s get wet…and then REALLY cold!” haha Ahh but it was okay, we all just played on the playground and the swings. It’s nice when I have the energy to get the kids out of the house and let them get all their energy out running around and climbing and yelling and playing. Jadon is super social, he’ll play with anyone and start talking to everyone. It’s pretty funny, but sometimes a bit awkward. Especially when he just runs up to other moms and asks them random “why” questions. I don’t know why I find this so embarrassing, but I really do haha. Lilly, on the other hand is a bit more shy and plays by herself. But she does love going up and examining and attempting to try on other’s shoes….oye. Silly girl, I must have looked so goofy with my pregnant belly galloping over to grab her with an awkward smile from the facinated mother. Also, for some reason, my kids think that any random toys laying around are free game. Not that they knowingly take them from other kids, but if there’s a car, or shovel, or cup, or bucket laying around with no one playing with it, they help themselves! Sheesh, we gotta do playdates more often so my kids become more socially acceptable haha….maybe I shouldn’t care so much.

The kids and Tim & I have started a new tradition of reading a story out of the “Beatrix Potter: The Complete Collection Book”

It’s been fun so far, but I have to be honest, the British idioms and phrases baffle the kids. It’s slow going with Jadon asking after every sentence, “What does that mean?” But it’s soothing to the kids to be read to, and they both love the pictures, so we’ll keep up with it. I have very fond memories of being read the Beatrix Potter books by my mother when I was little. It feels “home-y” to be reading them all again:) I also realize how awful some of these stories are at some parts! Haha like tonight we read “The Tale of Nutkin” who is a little squirrel who shows a lack of manners and decorum towards an old Owl and as consequence, gets caught by the Owl and while trying to get away, he breaks his tail in half. He gets away and doesn’t get eaten by the Owl who “intended to skin him” but goodness! haha. Or Peter Rabbit, who’s relative gets “put into a pie.” The kids really have no idea what any of this means, but it’ll be interesting the day they finally catch on.

Well, it’s that time!

94. What’s the most eccentric thing you have ever worn? Haha wow, I went through a “lime green” phase when I was 11 or 12 and pretty much everything I wore during that phase was the most eccentric thing ever.

95. If you could pick one food that you could eat all you wanted but it would have no effect on how much you weigh, what food would it be? Hmmm…pizza!

96. What are your parents interested in? They reallly enjoy designing houses! Also they are pretty interested in my kids for some odd reason…

97. Have you ever caught an insect and kept it as a pet? Yes, I have kept beetles as pets before…they all died…shhhh…don’t tell PETA.

Have you ever caught and tamed a wild animal? No, but sometimes raising children feels like it! haha

98. What is more helpful to you, wishes or plans? Hmmm helpful? Plans…i love to make plans! Wishes are way more fun though:)

99. When do you feel your life energy the strongest? Life energy? Is this a new age thing? When do I feel it the strongest? I suppose when I have the most of it!

100. You are spending the night alone in the woods and may bring only 3 items with you. What do you bring? Tim, a tent and some food.

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

