Rough Patches and Runny Noses

Dear Diary,

The last few days…not so fun. This is not going to be a super happy entry, but if you want to read, read on. I just want to get my grouchiness out.

Yesterday started out okay, I had a sore throat and so did Jadon, but other than that it wasn’t too bad. I had an OB appointment at 10am and thought, “I have a sore throat, this would be a perfect day to use my new travel mug and make myself some hot tea!” 

So I made myself some white rasberry tea and we were off to the doctor’s! In the waiting room, both the kids were great, they played together, read books, I thought, “Yes! This is gonna be easy.” Hahaha very funny. Once we got back to the room, they started getting impatient. Is it just me, or do OB doctor’s appointments take FOREVER because they make you wait in the room for what seems like hours? I was tired and feverish and I just wanted to talk to the doctor and get out. So the doctor finally came in and it was all downhill from there. Firstly, I had an issue I needed to address with my OB about one of the nurse practitioners giving me dumb information. All she did was stand there with a blank expression on her face obviously not listening to me and nodding like she was. Nothing annoys me more. As I was expressing my frustration, I made some sort of gesture with my arms and knocked my travel mug off the examination table where I was sitting…hot tea…everywhere. Oye. Then the kids started acting up. They love attention as do most kids and thought it would be funny to put on a show…not so much, guys. So there I am trying to talk to my doctor who doesn’t seem to care at all what I was saying and my kids in the background whooping and hollering and touching and crawling and whining and talking and well,…you get the picture. So the doctor left and I rounded up my circus performers and left, even more tired, frusterated and feverish than when I came in. We got home and I crashed onto the couch and turned on a movie for the kids. I was feeling more and more sick. My nose was a faucet, my face felt like it was going to explode and all my joints hurt. Poor Jadon wasn’t feeling well either, but at least he was fever-free. We made it thru the day until naptime. I put both kids down and they both fell asleep pretty fast so I went to bed and fell asleep. About 40 minutes later, I hear Jadon crying. This is odd for him because generally he does not wake from naps crying unless he is scared or confused, or in this case sick. I called for him to get up, go to the bathroom and come to my room. I got no response, just more fussing so I got up to check on him and poor kid, he was crying in his sleep scratching his neck I’m guessing because his throat hurt. Poor baby. I watched him for a minute and he quieted down so I went and crawled back into bed. Then I couldn’t fall back to sleep because I was listening for him to start fussing again. I was so tired I just wanted to crawl in a hole and cry. Jadon woke up not too long afterward and thereafter, Lilly. I got of them up and brought them downstairs to play. At last it was 6pm and my Knight In Shining Armor showed up with soup, salad and breadsticks for me for dinner. My hero:) That was the best part of the whole day. After dinner, Tim went out to go get me some non-drowsy allergy medication and more kleenex. I have the best hubby:) He bathed the kids and put them to bed and went to go work on his homework while I slept off and on laying on the couch watching TV. Then after, Tim came downstairs and gave me a scalp massage….ahhh bliss:)

Today hasn’t been a whole lot better. Jadon seemed to be a lot better so we were going to go ahead with my birthday plans for date night. Then later his nose started to run…then later, he got a fever. Darn. I gave him some meds for allergy and fever and pouted. I was so bummed out! We had plans to go to Benihana’s for dinner and then Cheesecake Factory for dessert. Instead, here I was getting sneezed on, wiping noses and administering meds. I love my kids, but man, can they cramp your style! Haha. Ahhh well, my mother-in-law offered to watch them even though Jadon’s sick, but since we are going my parent’s for my birthday tomorrow, we figured it was probably better to keep him home and get him (and me) all the way better so we don’t get anyone sick. Thank you though Lynn, that really meant a lot for you to offer to babysit:) So tonight, Tim’s coming home and then making chicken nachos for us for dinner. I seriously love love LOVE that man. Again, thanks Lynn, you and Elmon raised one amazing man:)

Alright, venting over, on to some questions:

81. If you (and everyone) had to lose one right or freedom, but you could pick which one everyone had to lose, what would you pick? Wow! Um, it’s kind of a long explanation for this one, but I’ll just stir the pot and say it with no explanation:) I think I would choose to lose the freedom of religion.

***Excuse me for a minute, Jadon just stole the sharpies and colored on himself…ugh***

Okay, I’m back…

82. If you had to choose would you live on the equator or at the North Pole? The equator, I already live in AZ where the heat is ridiculous, I think it’d be less of an adjustment to live there.

83. Would you rather give up listening to music or watching television? Watching TV, can’t live without music.

84. What do you think makes someone a hero? Putting others before themselves and of course having the name of Tim;) hehe

85. What cartoon would you like to be a character in? Hmmm…is it sad that I would pick a certain kid’s show just so that I could go kick the butt of one of the bratty kids on the show? haha

86. Name one thing that turns your stomach: runny noses and vomit

Till Next Time!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

