Wa-BAM!

Dear Diary,

Wa-BAM! That is how I feel about today. Do you ever have days where you feel almost invincible? Like no matter what is determined to go wrong, you are more determined to roll with it and make it right? That is today. I feel like SuperMom today! Gave my kids a healthy delicious breakfast this morning…wa-BAM! Gonna make some yummy thing for dinner (don’t know what yet) but…wa-BAM! It’s gonna be a great day. So last night, my sister-in-law Brittany and I went out to dinner at Cheesecake Factory. I’m gonna be honest, I was a little nervous about it! (I get nervous about the silliest things, just ask Tim haha) I hadn’t seen her in awhile and I was worried the dinner was going to be full of awkward silences and those,”So….yeah….um…how’s….(quick think of something!)…your mom doing?” Well as usual, I had nothing to be nervous about and the dinner was awesome! We had plenty to talk about and I don’t know about her, but I was in DYER need of some adult time! I know all you mom’s of young kiddos know exactly what I’m talking about. We love our kids and the fact that we get to interact with them, but sometimes you need someone with a college education to talk to! It’s so cool now that Brittany’s a mom too, it gives us a lot more in common and it’s nice to sit and hash out ideas on parenting and families. It was a great time (Thanks again, Brittany!) and I can’t wait to do it again!

I finished an art project yesterday and was so excited about it! If you’re on Facebook, you can see photos under the “Art” folder on my photos. If you’re not on Facebook and you want to see it, send me an email and I’ll send you some photos. Art right now is like my guilty pleasure that I get to work on while the kids are asleep. It’s rare that the kids are napping and I’m not cleaning or napping myself, so it’s a special treat to get to work on my art when I can.

Question: Why do boys feel the need to stomp everywhere and make as much noise and humanly possible going from Point A to Point B?? Stomping, slamming doors, heavy running, yelling…none of this in an angry way necessarily, but still! I do love my boy, he is so precious and such a big help to me and his sister.

So I have decided to “re-do” my wardrobe. I was in my closet the other day looking at all my clothes and was thinking, “You know? My closet looked like this in highschool! Yikes” Not that I have a lot of the same clothes, but the style hasn’t changed much. I shuddered a bit and wondered if I’d be a good candidate for that TV show, “What Not To Wear.” I guess I think now that I have 3 kids, I should not be dressing like your typical 22 year old. I wondered if all women went thru this phase and I thought, “Well, I literally graduated highschool and got married and then had a baby! I never really had a full time job where I had to dress professionally in slacks and blouses etc.” and I thought, “I wonder if women who have had these types of ‘careers’ have an easier time with this transition?” Yes, I had this long train of thought while standing in my closet. Then I thought, “Okay, so what kind of clothes should I transition to? I don’t wanna take it so far that I’m dressing too old, but at the same time, I don’t wanna be dressed like Rainbow Brite walking thru the grocery store with 3 kids.” So I’ve decided to start changing it up little by little. More nice shirts and less t-shirts, nicer jeans,…”WHO WEARS SHORT SHORTS???” Not me! haha. I discussed all this with Brittany last night and she offered coupons and advice both for which I was very grateful! I love her style! (“both for which?” is that grammatically correct?) So if you would like to donate to the “Ashley’s Not Going To Be Dressing Like She’s In Highschool Anymore” fund, please contact me:) haha.

Till Next Time and with much love to all my fellow mommies out there!

Ashley

Leave a Reply

